When Buying a Diamond. Consider the 4 Cs

To establish a diamonds quality, they are graded by expert gemologists to determine the 4 C's – Cut, Clarity, Carat weight and Color.

At Sergio Valente, when purchasing diamonds, we examine the stones carefully - choosing the best combination of the 4 C's to offer the highest quality and best value diamonds to our clients. We maintain a high standard of stock diamonds to compliment the high quality we offer in the mount itself. All mounts are individually made to the specifications of the stones chosen and the actual ring size.


The Cut determines the brilliance of the diamond, the higher the grading the more brilliance. Diamonds are graded Ideal, Very Good, Good, Medium, and Fair.

If you place two diamonds of the same weight Clarity and Color side by side and find one to be less brilliant than the other, the fault lies in the cutting. The cutter has chosen to create a larger diamond and sacrifice its brilliance. This larger stone would appear to give you more diamond for your money, when in fact its value has been diminished.


Clarity refers to the number of Inclusions in the diamond - the fewer the Inclusions, the clearer and more brilliant the diamond.

All diamonds have identifying characteristics, but most are invisible to the naked eye.

  • VVS1 or VVS2 (Very Very Small Inclusion)
    This classification has inclusions invisible to the naked eye; it must be examined under a microscope. The brilliance does not diminish in this category.
  • VS1 or VS2 (Very Small Inclusion)
    Very small inclusions difficult to locate - only a trained eye with a 10x jewellers loupe can locate the Inclusion.
  • SI1-SI2 (Small Inclusion)
    Inclusions are easily identified with a 10x loupe while still difficult to see with the naked eye. The stones in this category maintain their integrity, depending on the location of the Inclusions.
  • I-1 – I-2 (Pique or Inclusion)
    Diamonds in this category have inclusions which may be seen with the naked eye.

At Sergio Valente, we take the extra time to educate you on the 4 C's when choosing your diamond. We encourage you to examine your diamond under a microscope before it is set. Explaining the clarity of each stone and pointing out the inclusions helps you to make the right decision when choosing your diamond.


Colors D, E and F are graded as Colorless while G, H. I and J are classified as near Colorless. Diamonds graded K, L and M, have obvious hints of color. At Sergio Valente we base our standards on D, E, F and G Color grades.

Carat Weight

Diamond's size is measured in carat weight A Carat diamond is100 Points, ½ Carat stone is .50 Points and so on.

On average 250 tons of rock, sand and earth have to be moved in a diamond mine to recover one Carat of diamonds. Less than 1% of all diamonds mined will produce stones of one Carat or more when polished. Diamonds of one Carat are highly sought after.

Diamonds are like people…each one is unique and must be evaluated individually for its qualities.


Diamonds are the hardest and purest mineral known to man. Unique among gems, it is composed of a single chemical element. It is the diamonds very hardness that makes it so brilliant when it has been cut.

All gemstones are measured using the Moh's hardness scale with diamonds being the hardest registering 10.

Comments are closed for this article.